The Great Bushing Thread

Old 05-28-2011, 01:52 PM
I need 2 more gears

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
The Great Bushing Thread

Bushings are very important in any car and as our cars age most will find themselves needing to replace some bushings. Some of us, like me, want there older 2G's to drive like brand new and without fresh bushings that WILL NOT happen. Anyways I wanted to create a thread that addresses all bushings on our cars. Get recommended life expectancies, recommended OEM replacements and recommended aftermarket and performance replacements. Also to have a list of all bushings on ours cars in one list. I am not an expert on this subject but have found myself replacing more and more bushings through the years and want to replace them all. I wish Energy suspension make a kit for our cars, maybe we can modify some that are similiar in size. Please let me know if I missed anything. Please respond with your experiences changing any of these bushings (let's try and keep out motor mounts as those will probably take over this thread and there is plent of other threads about motor mounts). I could not find a comprehensive thread on bushings already created so it would great to focus on all other bushings. I'd love to get peoples opinions on OEM enhancements to any bushings on our cars and specifically subframe bushings.

List of bushings:

Front Lower Control Arm Bushings(there are two in each LCA)- MOOG or OEM, ES mod would be nice
NOTE: Other LCA Bushing aka Shock absorber bushing

Front Upper Control Arm Bushings- OEM

Front Sway Bar Bushings- 27mm if you have sway bars, ES makes 27mm bushings, had anyone used them?

Front Strut Rod Bushings aka radius rod bushings, OEM or MOOG, I put in MOOGS and they are much stiffer than OEM

Front Strut Tower Bushings- OEM or MOOG, I bet we could modify ES bushings

Front Body Mounts (subframe bushings) has anyone changed their subframe bushings? Are they easily replacable?