fairly new to acurazine, 99 TL engine/trans swap.

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2018, 02:03 AM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question fairly new to acurazine, 99 TL engine/trans swap.

So im fairly new to acurazine and to working on cars in general and ive been looking around the forums for a bit now trying to see if anyone has done what im planning and ive found a few threads but id love more info if anyone can help. I drive a 99 acura TL j32 auto, and the transmission is showing the signs just like other auto trans' from this era. On top of multiple other problems in the front end the trans is the biggest price tag, a rebuild ive seen quotes for $2000+, reman for $800+, or the scrap yard.

Ive been trying to figure out a 4th option, my plan is to get a salvage title 2005+ J series donor for $1200-$1800 + a tow home, and to take as much of the front clip as possible and to fit it in my current TL. Id like to go the extra mile and replace the engine and trans and as many other parts as i can with newer up to date parts. Ive seen some people go the route of keeping their original 2G subframes and getting custom mounts to accommodate the new engine&trans, i would be ok with this route but i was wondering if i could take the engine and "cradle" ( axles, subframes, struts, trans, ect. all together just like how honda assembles these cars in-factory) and put it in place of my current front end parts. I know this wont be a direct bolt up but ive gotta believe the Jseries platform has enough similarities among generations to make it close enough. My first assumption is that the wheelbases and strut mounts are generally close to the same through out the years, or at least close enough to make it work without too much issue. One thing i have no idea about is subframe mounts and how their configurations have changed over the model years.