Buffing my TL questuin

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2017, 04:18 PM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Buffing my TL questuin

I'm going to be buffing my 2003 Acura TL today or tomorrow for the first time. Are Acuras single stage paint? My friend that is helping me said we should know that before starting. Also I'm using a harbor freight special da polisher and foam pads. Also will be using meguiars 105 and 205... As I'm a beginner at this I don't want to damage the paint, with the tool and chemicals I'm using should I be fine? Many tips would be great. Thank you
Old 08-03-2017, 04:19 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 8,582 Likes on 6,629 Posts
What color is your TL
Old 08-03-2017, 04:30 PM
Unregistered Member

Received 555 Likes on 445 Posts
Did you wash and clay your car first?
Old 08-03-2017, 05:40 PM
Pro

Received 61 Likes on 57 Posts
Wash and clay first. With a DA polisher you're not going to be hurting anything.
Old 08-03-2017, 05:46 PM

Received 1,016 Likes on 867 Posts
I know for sure WDP is single stage paint... Dunno about the other colors.
Old 08-03-2017, 06:09 PM
Team Owner

Received 4,416 Likes on 3,322 Posts
There are very few Honda's and Acuras with dual stage paint. No 3G TL that I know of is dual stage. Colors like Imola Orange, or the new NSX blue (amongst a couple others) are some of the only H/A paints that's are dual stage. It's expensive. It takes longer to paint a car. Etc... there's a reason why H/A generally avoid such paint.
Old 08-03-2017, 10:57 PM
Intermediate

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
When you all say single stage what are you referring to?