Best lowering coilover

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2018, 10:21 AM
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool Best lowering coilover

Hi guys, I'm new to all of this and I'm barely going to start working on my 2nd Gen TL. I wanted to know what coil overs are best to lower my car to meet the tire.
Or is they any other way for it to look good? Please include pictures if possible. Thank you.
Old 02-06-2018, 10:26 AM
Team Owner

Received 2,334 Likes on 1,962 Posts
Coils would be your best bet. Tein is reputable company, but, I heard from others that they don't go low enough. When I had my 2G TL-S a lot of people where on Function Form, but, I don't know if that's still the case.
Old 02-06-2018, 10:27 AM
Senior Moderator

Received 8,577 Likes on 6,627 Posts
FF ride is I'd stay away from them. TEIN or Koni's would be my suggestion.

or just cut your springs
Old 02-07-2018, 02:38 PM
Advanced

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
do your research here. i've seen a lot of positive feedback on the tein's, except for some noise that there is a thread on. the basis are [harder] to install, because you'll need to uninstall your top hat and a bunch of washers/bumpers from the stock setup and reinstall on the tein's. heelandtoe has one you can buy with the OE kit installed or uninstalled, but this keeps disassembly to a minimum. i've spoken to marcus there so many times now. i just bought a set and waiting for shipment.

the ff type 1s have had mixed reviews. midori has type 2s i think and loves them. they do drop you lower, but hear they don't ride like stock. i want a stock ride, just lower height. i don't want it slammed.

if you want to go higher up in price point, i think bc, ksport are better regarded. don't take my word for the bc and ksport as i've really only shopped at the lowest price point, which are the tein basis and ff type 1s.