A/C compressor is making noise. Replace it or rebuild?

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2017, 02:16 PM
Pro

Received 79 Likes on 68 Posts
A/C compressor is making noise. Replace it or rebuild?

I recently had to replace the tensioner assembly. My A/C compressor was getting noisy before I replaced the tensioner. With the new tensioner installed I can hear the compressor. When the A/C is on it is louder and with it off it is almost silent. It is still blowing cold but I know it is going to fail soon.

Is it possible to rebuild it? If not what brand compressor is recommended? The factory option is almost $800. I am hoping there is a much cheaper aftermarket option that isn't junk.
Old 05-22-2017, 09:29 PM

Received 612 Likes on 490 Posts
I've actually seen rebuilt compressors, and while I have no experience with them, I can't imagine them being that bad considering power steering pumps are rebuilt all the time with a high rate of success
Old 05-22-2017, 09:42 PM
Advanced

Received 25 Likes on 21 Posts
Put a pag oil 46 on ur ac compressor.

Originally Posted by beekermartin
I recently had to replace the tensioner assembly. My A/C compressor was getting noisy before I replaced the tensioner. With the new tensioner installed I can hear the compressor. When the A/C is on it is louder and with it off it is almost silent. It is still blowing cold but I know it is going to fail soon.

Is it possible to rebuild it? If not what brand compressor is recommended? The factory option is almost $800. I am hoping there is a much cheaper aftermarket option that isn't junk.
Old 05-26-2017, 03:05 AM
Pro