Comptech Auto Headers on 6MT CL-S

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2017, 10:09 PM
Intermediate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Comptech Auto Headers on 6MT CL-S

So I have very little experience with these cars, but has anyone over the years heard of someone using the Comptech Auto headers on their CL-S6? I'm not sure if it's possible, but I am getting impatient in my search for the ultra-rare Comptech CL-S6 headers and would settle for the auto pair if there is a legitimate way to utilize them.. I don't want to cut anything, nor do I want to use a different rear mount, but perhaps I can just simply disconnect the rear mount, install the header and then reconnect the rear mount to avoid the clearance issue..? I'm totally unaware of what exactly the clearance issue is and how it looks like with the auto CT headers in a 6sp car; I've only read on a few threads that the rear mount is the issue so forgive my ignorance. Would appreciate it if someone knowledgeable chimed in on this.
Old 11-21-2017, 10:51 PM
Unregistered Member

Received 555 Likes on 445 Posts
No, it won't fit without shaving the rear mount. Here's a pic of the bend in my CT headers, I put a red circle on it:

Now compare that to any auto headers without the bend:

The bend is too much for the mount to have any clearance, regardless of which order you installed the mount and rear collector.

You could get the rear mount bracket shaved to get the required clearance. I remember it needing to be shaved quite a bit, but it wouldn't compromise the mount. Also, the XS-P headers are an almost exact copy of the CT headers for around $200.
Old 11-21-2017, 11:15 PM
Intermediate

Interesting...and you're sure that cutting it won't compromise the integrity of the mount? I'm a machinist so I do have access to the tools, tooling and time to properly cut & modify the mount to the appropriate dimensions 🤔