Money & Investing Learn how to get rich on the housing bubble and the bull market…

Question about accounting project I am doing

Old 11-23-2004, 02:26 PM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question about accounting project I am doing

I am doing an accounting project where I am a consultant giving advice to an auditor (called U&H) about a particular job they are bidding on in Baton Rouge. It is basically a series of questions that I have to answer and support with accounting documents and studies.

I wanted to get some thoughts on one of the questions from any of the accouting gurus here. I am not looking for anyone to do my project, just for some added insight. The question is:

What if U & H had billed the client for less than the total expenses expected to be incurred so that the firm could establish a foothold in Baton Rouge? How would the firm account for and report the out-of-pocket expenses in excess of the fees received? What implications would this arrangement have for future years’ engagements (i.e. Does “low-balling” hinder auditor independence? Is it illegal and/or relevant under the Sarbanes-Oxley Act? Is it unethical?)?

I am more concerned with thoughts on the low-balling portion of the question. I could not find anything in the Sarbanes Oxley act that says low balling is illegal. The thing that I found in the S-O act is that auditors cannot offer certain non-auditing services. Before the S-O act, auditors would low-ball to get business so they could generate more revenue from non-auditing consulting services. But I do not see it as illegal to low-ball in order to get business. Some argue that low-balling can affect independence, but some think it does not affect auditor independence.