Powdercoated wrought iron furniture

Old 10-01-2005, 04:03 AM
I miss my 03 CL-S :(

Received 445 Likes on 214 Posts
Powdercoated wrought iron furniture

I'm thinking of getting this set or something like it soon for my balcony:
http://www.overstock.com/cgi-bin/d2....od_id=1030558#

Does powdercoated wrought iron furniture rust? I'll be leaving it outside year-round, so it'll be exposed to plenty of rain, snow and sun. I'd hate to buy this and have it rust or leave rust stains in the balcony.
Old 10-01-2005, 12:17 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I powdercoat for a living...

And have been doing so for 15 years now, but I do more than powdercoat.

There are two basic items to consider here: weatherability and corrosion resistance. They are not the same thing. One at a time.

Weatherability is the coatings resistance to fade (color changeing, generally turning lighter) and the elements, rain snow, ice and dew. As an overall average in the United States, any object left outdoors, be it a car, furniture or plants will be wet fifty percent of the time. I have cabinets at work that simulate concentrated sunlight in a controlled environment, and the light emitted by the ultraviolet lamps by themselves generally cause very little damage on their own. However, elevate the temperature to 50 C during the four hour light cycle and add a four hour condensation cycle at 50 C, your poorer coatings fall apart quickly.

Powder coatings are very robust, but it is very important that the correct chemistry and system are used. I'll explain.