Pool help for the newly pool newbie...

Old 06-13-2008, 07:29 AM
Senior Moderator

Received 1,090 Likes on 767 Posts
Pool help for the newly pool newbie...

as some of you know from my other thread, i closed on my house a few days ago... well priority number one is to open the pool since i want to try to get it running since it has been sitting for over a year (don't think they opened it last year)... anyway, this is my first pool ever, i am a total noob to this stuff... it is a 15' round above ground pool (estimated)

yesterday i went to the house and i started to siphon out the residual water that has collected on top of the pool cover (also got a mouthful of dirty pool water in the process )... but the owner told me that the pool uses an underground filter (it is bigger and better than any above ground filter for a pool this size)... does anyone know how i can tell the direction of flow the water should be coming into/out of the pump??? i can elimante which tube goes where by the length of the hoses, but i just want to make sure...

also, do i need to prime the pump to get out any air in the system, if so how is this done???

also what kinda of chemicals do i need to pick up??? i found a whole container of Shock in the shed...

i can take some pics this afternoon if it will help... thanks in advanced...
Old 06-13-2008, 11:45 AM
Unofficial Goat

Received 112 Likes on 89 Posts
In my experience, (have had a pool my whole life) the inlet for the pump will be on the front, there's probably some kind of plexi glass cover with 2 knobs and what looks like a strainer inside. That's the secondary skimmer. Heres a pic

the outlet that comes out of the top of the pump is what goes back to the pool or into a sand filter.