My HVAC Part 2 (Need input on PVC drain pipe)

Old 09-30-2007, 02:36 PM
Team Owner

Received 2,214 Likes on 1,211 Posts
My HVAC Part 2 (Need input on PVC drain pipe)

I went down my basement today be be greeted with about 30 gallons of water on the floor again. This time I figured that the drain on the pan must be clogged. Turns out I was right. I took the side off of the ductwork around the coil and sure enough the pan was full. Looks like I have some clogged plumbing. My question is how to fix this? I can only assume that the pipe is full of some kind of slime because I have been cleaning this out of the HVAC water pump for two years. No idea where the slime comes from.

I have attached two pics of the drain plumbing coming out of the unit. Take a look at the trap part, for whatever reason the PVC pipe looks like it was bent into the shape of a trap and as a result the pipe is very narrow there. When I banged on the trap with a wrench the water started flowing, but I expect it to clog again quickly.

I've never worked with PVC and I have a few questions. How is the PVC joints connected? Are they easy to separate? Is the trap in the drain required by code? I think I could probably just replace the entire drain system, it doesn't look too complicated. What can I do to ensure that this doesn't clog again?

Below are some pics. The first one is a close up of the trap, notice how the PVC is crimped in this area. The second pic is so you can see the entire drain. The water pump is just off frame on the bottom left.

CLIFFS: HVAC drain clogged, how to fix and ensure that it doesn't clog again. Pics below.

Old 09-30-2007, 02:51 PM
Administrator Alumnus

Received 131 Likes on 82 Posts
That's a really strange setup. But I'm baffled to why you'd be having drainage issues. What kind of water do you have?

I don't see the need for having a "trap" there. I would eliminate that.