Does my Home AC need service?

Old 06-21-2011, 04:00 PM
Racer

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Does my Home AC need service?

If my car's AC need service, how about the home unit? Central AC. As far as I know, the HVAC is in the attic. And the exhaust fan is outside.

It's been 7 years and still works great. And I want to keep it that way. Does it need servicing? Does the "R134" or whatever they use need to be replace?
Old 06-21-2011, 05:03 PM
The sizzle in the Steak

Received 1,877 Likes on 1,297 Posts
Exhaust fan outside

Are you referring to the A/C Condenser?
Old 06-21-2011, 05:06 PM
Racer

I try to best describe the type of AC unit I have. Maybe I over did it because I know nothing other than turn it on, set my temp, and expect a high electric bill. Total newbie here.

I should have just leave the question as...

Do I need to service my home (central) AC unit?
Old 06-21-2011, 06:13 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 2,012 Likes on 1,431 Posts
Originally Posted by cabanalane
I try to best describe the type of AC unit I have. Maybe I over did it because I know nothing other than turn it on, set my temp, and expect a high electric bill. Total newbie here.

I should have just leave the question as...

Do I need to service my home (central) AC unit?
You should service it every so often, and a servicing includes these things:

1. Replacing filters
2. Pouring Bleach/water mixture or Vinegar down the drain tube, then sucking drain tube clean of debris.
3. Opening up of the unit to clean out the coils
4. Check function of "safe T switch"
5. Clean outside unit fins + unit
6. Check Refridgerant levels

The only thing I would advise you NOT to do yourself is 3 and 6. Filter replacement is easy and should be done every 30-90 days depending on the filters you are using.