Can you ask your town if you can fence THEIR property?

Old 05-27-2017, 11:00 AM
Suzuka Master

Received 53 Likes on 44 Posts
Can you ask your town if you can fence THEIR property?

My wife and I have been working on purchasing a short sale home for over 7 months now. We didn't think to check the property line maps closely for whatever reason. We are novices when it comes to all this. When we got the appraisal back, I noticed the property line comes right next to the driveway, cutting off the entire side yard. We planned to fence in this yard completely. The other side of the property line is town property. I am not sure on the easement lines. The town does not use the this part of the land, and it is only for the purpose of electrical lines that pass through the area.

I am not sure who to ask so figured I would pick everyone's brain here as there are people that are knowledgeable on so many things. You can see the properties from the arial map and the land in question is to the right of the driveway. I had a surveyor out today to verify, and you can see the line in the pictures below.

Old 05-27-2017, 01:41 PM
Team Owner

Received 3,863 Likes on 2,030 Posts
You can ask... but you might not receive.

My subdivision has a single lot that is owned by the town park district. It is reserved for a thoroughfare to an unincorporated area behind us ... if the area is ever annexed town code would require a road there to allow two access roads for emergency vehicles. Because of the potential to replace the lot with a street the park district does nothing but keep grass mowed on it. Our homeowners association inquired about being allowed to put some decorative plants and perhaps benches for a little sitting/gathering area to make it more of a park in the meantime. We were turned down.
Old 05-27-2017, 02:22 PM
Safety Car

Received 505 Likes on 378 Posts