Health & Fitness You're fat. Get skinny…

Weight Lifting for Women

Old 08-20-2008, 12:44 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 71 Likes on 28 Posts
Weight Lifting for Women

I just started lifting weights less than 2 months ago. Typically, I stretch for 10 minutes, run for about 2 miles, lift weights for 40 mins (3-4 sets each of tricep pushdown, bench press, pectoral fly, lat pulldown or low row), do crunches, and then squats/walking lunges 3x a week. I'm wondering what's a good starting weight for let's say, bench presses for women? I have been using only 20 lbs for chest exercises, 30 lbs for back exercises, 8 lb dumbbells for arms.

As for diet, I have minimized my fat & sugar intake and increased proteins. I keep my calorie intake about 300-500 less than 1800 calories (except for 1-2x that I cheat with a nice dessert like carrot cake during weekends) because I want to lose 5 more pounds.

The thing is, I stopped losing weight. Is this because I'm losing fat but also gaining muscle? Or has my metabolism reached plateau? Should I just increase the weights I use? I tried 30 lbs lately for chest exercises but I can only do 1 set.

I would appreciate any helpful comments and suggestions. My female friends don't really lift weights so I can't get help from them.
Old 08-20-2008, 12:56 PM
Go Giants

Received 1,232 Likes on 822 Posts
Just don't get too big
Old 08-20-2008, 12:57 PM
Pug
Team Camel, VP for Zaino

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
You can find a lot of really good information, and answers to your questions at the JP Fitness Forums Some forums are addressed specifically at women too. They're very knowledgeable and helpful.
Old 08-20-2008, 01:02 PM
Suzuka Master

Originally Posted by Pug
You can find a lot of really good information, and answers to your questions at the JP Fitness Forums Some forums are addressed specifically at women too. They're very knowledgeable and helpful.
Thanks! I'm checking it out now.
Old 08-20-2008, 03:04 PM
Registered but harmless