Health & Fitness You're fat. Get skinny…

Nausea While Doing Cardio...

Old 10-04-2011, 04:09 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 22,792 Likes on 13,976 Posts
Question Nausea While Doing Cardio...

Question for some of the experts here:

As the title says, this is a new development for me.

I've been doing HIT for many years now...So, 2 minutes at a brisk walk, and then 2 minutes at a fast run. Back and forth for close to 30 minutes.

Anyhow, recently, I've developed a weird problem where I just feel like puking as soon as I start my cardio session. It's odd...the sensation I can best describe is that I need to burp up something and if it does not happen, I get nauseous...to the point I am dry-heaving and I need to stop my run.

The intensity of my running has not changed...so, I'm wondering what's going on for the last couple of weeks. Is it my diet? It's not any different...I'm still consuming my usual container of fresh fruit and some yogurt about 2-3 hours before in the morning and then some peanut butter about 20 minutes before I head off to the gym. So, my diet is not different.

Thanks in advance for any input.
Old 10-04-2011, 04:41 PM
Needs more Lemon Pledge

Received 2,000 Likes on 1,173 Posts
Have you tried going on an empty stomach? Not ideal from an energy standpoint but see if the food is the issue.
Old 10-04-2011, 04:46 PM
Senior Moderator

Originally Posted by stogie1020
Have you tried going on an empty stomach? Not ideal from an energy standpoint but see if the food is the issue.
Good idea...I'll try that on Thursday when it falls on a cardio day again.
Old 10-04-2011, 05:33 PM
Needs more Lemon Pledge

Also, is it any cardio or just one particular machine/exercise?

I used to get a little disoriented at first on the elliptical machines...
Old 10-04-2011, 06:16 PM
Team Owner

Received 3,864 Likes on 2,031 Posts

Pregnant? Unpeeled grapes?

or...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Exercise_induced_nausea
The following users liked this post:
Yumcha (10-04-2011)