Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Valve adjustment FTW

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2018, 02:41 PM
Drifting

Received 849 Likes on 605 Posts
Valve adjustment FTW

I've been putting off doing a valve adjustment for a few months since I've been busy with various home improvement projects. And the motor hasn't been especially noisy. But I finally bit the bullet and did it last Saturday morning, along with a few other little maintenance items like cleaning out the throttle body, intake manifold, fuel injectors, EGR, PCV, etc. Anyways, all those other things were pretty clean. A slight bit of buildup on the TB and IM but that's it. Once I removed the valve covers I was pleasantly surprised to see that the valve train was shiny clean. That wasn't the case on my wife's '09 Pilot that had used conventional oil up to 200K miles (got a good synthetic in there now). Anyway, I was surprised to find that the valves were surprisingly loose. Even the exhaust valves were loose, which I found to be a little bizarre since I've always seen loose valves on the intake and tight on the exhaust. The spec for the intake is 0.008" - 0.009" and exhaust is 0.011" - 0.013". That's the same on every J I've worked on BTW (3G TL, Pilot, 2G RL, 4G TL). I was seeing the intake around 0.011 and the exhaust as far as 0.015. There were two that didn't need adjusting, but the other 22 all required at least a quarter turn on the adjusting screw to get in spec.