Sponsored by: DashLynx

Looking for good headlights

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2017, 06:02 PM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking for good headlights

Hi guys, newbie here... 2010 TL SH-AWD

Just had a question, has anybody changed their headlights with aftermarket ones. The headlights on my wife's TL are getting kind of yellowish and I was wondering if anybody know a good brand to replace them, besides OEM.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Old 07-20-2017, 06:12 PM
'20 TLX SH-AWD A-Spec

Received 345 Likes on 253 Posts
"Yellowish" can be fixed, search youtube for videos on how to. Cracked, from stress cracks can't. I recently changed mine because of that. Was hunting on ebay for a while for OEM ones, around $200 a piece, got them both and changed them. ebay pictures can be tricky sometimes, especially to make sure there are no cracked edges on the plastic or other horrible cracks, since most of these OEMs on ebay were pulled from totalled cars.

There are some aftermarket headlight pairs on ebay for around $700 both, problem is I don't know if they come with all the necessary parts inside. Yes, there are metallic parts on the back to support the bulbs. So if you go ebay shopping make sure you ask the question if it includes all parts necessary that you can't transfer from the old ones because they are too integrated inside, minus the bulbs and ballast that you'll have to transfer to the new ones from the old.

If you do the job yourself, look for the repair manual link posted in this forum for directions. Also depending on rust levels around your neck of the woods, well, you may have to deal with some very stubborn screws holding the ballast at the back of the headlights, careful not to brake them!! Also do not touch the bulbs themselves with your fingers, as they may crack or get contaminated. Just handle them touching the metal base.

Last edited by Tonyware; 07-20-2017 at 06:17 PM.
The following users liked this post:
justnspace (07-21-2017)