Brand new TSX owner seeking advice

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2014, 01:21 AM
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Brand new TSX owner seeking advice

Hi guys,

First off, this is my first time posting here so I just wanted to say hi.

I recently purchased a 2004 TSX through a private sale. The owner was an older woman (mid to late 50's) and she sold the car to me @ 83000 km (Yes, I'm up in Canada). I did the standard VIN check and had a friend look at it (nothing too thorough). Long story short, the car checked out and I've had no real issues with it in the short time I've owned it (roughly 1 month). Having said that, I have a few questions for you guys.

What are some things I can do to improve the general longevity/performance/safety of the car without sacrificing fuel economy? I'm not really interested in HP upgrades at this time as this is mostly my daily commuter with the occasional rip along the highway.

I have noticed that the braking power of the car isn't as great as I'd like. Also, this might just be me, but whenever I roll up into my driveway really slowly by taking a sharp turn, it seems like the side windows creak ever so slightly.

Since I'm completely new to all of this (this is the first car I've ever purchased), I thought I'd come to you guys for help after a few searches online led me here. I was previously driving a family member's old 2000 Corolla but this car is a huge upgrade in every way and I'd like to maintain it for as long as possible.

So having said all that, once again, what are some things I can look at investing in? Also, the car manual suggests doing maintenance at 60 000 miles (96 000 Km) but I kind of want to do it soon (it's approaching 85 000) just for peace of mind. Would that be okay?

Any answers and/or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks once again and I look forward to learning from some of the best.
Old 10-02-2014, 03:12 AM
Instructor

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
The car needs nothing.