Overheating!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2004, 09:50 AM
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Overheating!!!

I drove less than 2 miles yesterday (to go to the store) and the temp needle popped up into the red. The car really hadn't had a chance to warm up, so I thought it was kinda odd. Oil pressure was good and levels was fine. Reserve tank for the radiator was a little low, right at minimum. Does this sound like the thermostat sticking, and if so, has anyone changed one out?
Old 05-16-2004, 05:58 PM
4th Gear

Overheating

After checking around on the internet, I decided it was either the thermostat or the waterpump. I decided to go the cheap route first and picked up a thermostat at Advance autoparts. Took me 16.00 about 2 hours to change it out (since I've never worked on a car before). It's a relatively easy job. You gotta drain the radiator to swap the parts out, then refill, but its worth it. Its Sunday so I couldn't call a garage to find out what it would cost me to have the work done, but I will guess I saved about 150.00 by doing it myself(probably 300.00 if I were to call the dealership for a quote).
Old 05-16-2004, 10:44 PM
Banned

Cool, that's good to know. Good job.
Old 05-17-2004, 05:53 AM
Advanced

for a thermostat, my mechanics charged me $45 with parts/labor. Hope it worked, next check to make sure all your hoses have a good connection. I found out that I was overheating cause of a loose hose.
Old 05-18-2004, 06:02 AM
4th Gear

Thanks, will double check all the hoses. No problems with the temp yesterday, so I think changing the thermostat took care of the problem. Will keep a close eye on the gauge though...don't want partake in any major engine work anytime soon.
Old 05-18-2004, 08:40 AM
2nd Gear

try checkin ur catlatic converter. if it gets backed up, ur car will overheat also. alltho it will run like ass when it gets hot.
Old 05-18-2004, 08:40 AM
Pro