Hello, a few questions. Does the NSX share its engine with any other Accura's?

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2012, 10:15 AM
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hello, a few questions. Does the NSX share its engine with any other Accura's?

I have been a mechanic, and engine builder for over 30 years now, and IF I ever settle on buying a NSX I will have to up the hp.

My usual plan for things like this is to get another engine, and build it at my leisure, then swapping when finished.

I have noticed that the NSX had titanium rods, what is the hp limit to these exotic rods?

My plans would be to build a turbo setup for the engine. One simple way I can see to do this would be to use thick Cometic head gaskets to lower the CR from 10:1 to around 9:1, that is if the rest of the engine is up to task.

Also, you do have to wonder why Accura never added a more powerful engine during the 90's. Heck, even the Cobra Mustangs had over 300hp {I know they were a bit heavier}.

Anyway, why do you choose the Accura over other cars available?

Thanks.
Old 02-25-2012, 05:00 AM
Ultra Negro

Received 35 Likes on 28 Posts
Well the main reason why the NSX was such a good car for the time was because they have feedback from Aryton Senna, one of the best drivers for his time to give feed back on the chassis, not to mention the car was very advanced for its time, and as for building the motor for more power there are lots of after market options for forged rods and pistons if you are looking for the forced induction route.

But the main reason why i think most people like the NSX is because of how it looks, it just screams "I am a sports car, drive me fast."