Rear tint problem/question

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2007, 12:47 AM
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rear tint problem/question

So I picked my car up yesterday after the tints were finished. The rear window tint doesnt go all the way to the top of the rear window, it stops where the little black dots are at the top...he said most cars with the dots won't take the tint and that it wont stick properly and nothing can be done about it...Is this correct? It looks good and evrything its just distracting looking at the window and then BAM, the tint just stops and its plain glass for the last 2" or so of the top of the window.
Old 05-03-2007, 01:09 AM
Advanced

most places will use black paint up there. its a pretty easy diy.
Old 05-03-2007, 02:27 AM
Instructor

Originally Posted by gotguinness?
he said most cars with the dots won't take the tint and that it wont stick properly and nothing can be done about it...Is this correct?
Hey, I'm a professional window tinter so I'll give you some insight. That guy who told you nothing can be done about it is full of shit. Normally when I tint cars with those black dots (called the matrix), I will tint the window up to the part where the matrix starts. But instead of leaving it like that, I will cut out a perfectly sized piece of black vinyl and use that to tint the rest of the window (where the matrix is). When done like this, it will turn out perfectly and you won't be able to tell that the vinyl is there. But there IS also a way to make the regular window tint stick to the matrix and work perfectly, but that is more complicated to explain so I won't get into it. And I've done it that way plenty of times before, so I know for fact that it's possible to stick regular window tint on the matrix. I hope this helps
Old 05-03-2007, 02:31 AM
Racer

Originally Posted by I Fear No Five O