Notices

Question and Answer Thread

 
Old 08-15-2009, 01:17 AM
  #201  
Da HoNu
 
hOnU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: bay area
Age: 33
Posts: 894
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Anhedonia View Post
the 250 was with alignment. i think im just going to hold off and do it myself with a buddy on sunday, take the extra money im saving and invest in some new tires/wheels.
if $250 is with alignment then that sounds good to me..because i've been going to my tech for awhile now, anytime i need to adjust my height and get an alignment (x3) i get it for about $200.
hOnU is offline  
Old 08-15-2009, 07:43 PM
  #202  
Registered Member
 
Anhedonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Madison, Nj || Woodbridge, CT
Age: 29
Posts: 3,185
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
im just going to do the install my self, pay 80$ for an alignment.
Anhedonia is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 03:14 PM
  #203  
Senior Moderator
Regional Coordinator
(Mid-Atlantic)
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
97BlackAckCL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ShitsBurgh
Age: 37
Posts: 88,924
Received 3,066 Likes on 2,166 Posts
So my abs light keeps coming on, only when i start pulling forward which means it's a WSS. Does anyone know if an obd2 scanner can pull the WSS code and tell me which one?
97BlackAckCL is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 05:59 PM
  #204  
Registered Member
 
f22vtec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: east windsor new jersey
Age: 30
Posts: 1,414
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
hey um my abs has been on since i pu the 98 cluster in u guys think the reason its on is because its a 3.0 98 cluster or does that not have any effect on it?
f22vtec is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 09:57 PM
  #205  
Registered Member
iTrader: (10)
 
Gnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Age: 29
Posts: 8,351
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Call me a hypocrite... just bought lowering springs.

Gnate is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 10:02 PM
  #206  
Senior Moderator
Regional Coordinator
(Mid-Atlantic)
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
97BlackAckCL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ShitsBurgh
Age: 37
Posts: 88,924
Received 3,066 Likes on 2,166 Posts
:shakehead
97BlackAckCL is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 10:06 PM
  #207  
Registered Member
iTrader: (10)
 
Gnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Age: 29
Posts: 8,351
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
my bad I thought I clicked on the current project thread.
Gnate is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 10:34 PM
  #208  
Registered Member
 
Anhedonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Madison, Nj || Woodbridge, CT
Age: 29
Posts: 3,185
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
im happy for you
Anhedonia is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 10:52 PM
  #209  
Registered Member
 
Anhedonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Madison, Nj || Woodbridge, CT
Age: 29
Posts: 3,185
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
ok i thought i knew, but i guess i dont?

the higher the offset = further the wheel sticks out from the hub (and eventually past the fender?) right?


but heres whats confusing me, if you get a 17x7 with a 42 offset, and a 17x8 with a 42 offset, the 8 will stick out further correct? how do you compensate for doing that? for each inch of tire width, subtract its equivalent in MM from the offset mm? so 1 inch = 25.4 mm

that means that to have the same appearance, with a 17x8 as a 17x7, youd have to run a 17x8 with a 17mm offset? along the same lines as this theory, if you go to a 17x9.. then your technically at a -8 offset, does such a thing exist?
Anhedonia is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 11:10 PM
  #210  
CL in lawnmower status
 
mitch14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Age: 29
Posts: 2,600
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by Anhedonia View Post
ok i thought i knew, but i guess i dont?

the higher the offset = further the wheel sticks out from the hub (and eventually past the fender?) right?


but heres whats confusing me, if you get a 17x7 with a 42 offset, and a 17x8 with a 42 offset, the 8 will stick out further correct? how do you compensate for doing that? for each inch of tire width, subtract its equivalent in MM from the offset mm? so 1 inch = 25.4 mm

that means that to have the same appearance, with a 17x8 as a 17x7, youd have to run a 17x8 with a 17mm offset? along the same lines as this theory, if you go to a 17x9.. then your technically at a -8 offset, does such a thing exist?
^not quite right
first of all, if you mean the same appearance as how far the outer edge of the wheel will stick out towards the fender or quarter panel, then you have it backwards
if you want a 17x8 to be at the same measurement from the hub to the outer edge of the rim as a 17x7 +42 you'd have to add to the offset, not subtract
second portion where you got it a little mixed up
think of adding width, as adding it on both sides of the wheel
so if comparing a 17x7 +42 and a 17x8 +42 the 8 inch wide wheel will stick out 12.7mm(1/2 inch) more than the 7 inch wide on both sides
so to achieve the same measurement from the hub to the outer edge of the rim, the 17x8 would have to be 17x8 +55, it would be .3mm out further, but that's nothing really
and yes, there are many different offsets for wheels, especially when it comes to 3 piece wheels, although looking at most of the new cheaper brands you may never see some of these offsets
i've seen anywhere from a -70 offset, to a high 50's i believe

here's a pic to help
mitch14 is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 12:16 AM
  #211  
Registered Member
 
Anhedonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Madison, Nj || Woodbridge, CT
Age: 29
Posts: 3,185
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
ah excellent, i understood more then i thought i did.. but didnt explain it well. the picture helped lol i was thinking of it in opposite terms, didnt think of the half thing either.

thanks mitch
Anhedonia is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 12:42 AM
  #212  
Registered Member
iTrader: (10)
 
Gnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Age: 29
Posts: 8,351
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
offset explanations never cease to confuse the fuck out of me.
Gnate is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 02:00 PM
  #213  
Skuuuurrrrrt!
iTrader: (1)
 
GhettoNinja06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Antone, TX
Age: 29
Posts: 4,226
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Originally Posted by Gnate View Post
offset explanations never cease to confuse the fuck out of me.
Maybe someday that I venture out to buy some wheels I'll understand.
GhettoNinja06 is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 11:06 PM
  #214  
CL in lawnmower status
 
mitch14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Age: 29
Posts: 2,600
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by Anhedonia View Post
ah excellent, i understood more then i thought i did.. but didnt explain it well. the picture helped lol i was thinking of it in opposite terms, didnt think of the half thing either.

thanks mitch
^no problem sir, glad i could help
if anyone else still has questions about the offset talk i can try and explain in PM's or whatever
just so we don't clutter this thread with the same type of questions
mitch14 is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 12:34 AM
  #215  
Registered Member
 
Anhedonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Madison, Nj || Woodbridge, CT
Age: 29
Posts: 3,185
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by mitch14 View Post
^no problem sir, glad i could help
if anyone else still has questions about the offset talk i can try and explain in PM's or whatever
just so we don't clutter this thread with the same type of questions
ok ive got a question about spacers.. gnate and i were taling earlier and he brought up a good point. if we were to employ the use of spacers, would we need longer lug bolts?
Anhedonia is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 01:11 PM
  #216  
i like acura
 
spencer_homer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bothell,WA
Age: 30
Posts: 2,431
Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts
not longer lug bolts. i dont quite know what your staying. you'll need longer studs pressed in if you space more than 7mm. and as far as lug nugs go, your probably better off with some open end tuner style lugs
spencer_homer is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 01:44 PM
  #217  
Senior Moderator
Regional Coordinator
(Mid-Atlantic)
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
97BlackAckCL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ShitsBurgh
Age: 37
Posts: 88,924
Received 3,066 Likes on 2,166 Posts
you will need extended studs, and open ended lugs
97BlackAckCL is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 02:15 PM
  #218  
Registered Member
iTrader: (10)
 
Gnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Age: 29
Posts: 8,351
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
how much are extended studs to purchase and have installed?
Gnate is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 02:20 PM
  #219  
Registered Member
 
Josh99CL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Franklin, Indiana
Age: 33
Posts: 2,367
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Gnate View Post
how much are extended studs to purchase and have installed?
The studs themselves are inexpensive.
Josh99CL is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 02:52 PM
  #220  
Senior Moderator
Regional Coordinator
(Mid-Atlantic)
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
97BlackAckCL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ShitsBurgh
Age: 37
Posts: 88,924
Received 3,066 Likes on 2,166 Posts
Originally Posted by Gnate View Post
how much are extended studs to purchase and have installed?
Q&A thread, the replacement for searching
97BlackAckCL is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 02:58 PM
  #221  
Registered Member
iTrader: (10)
 
Gnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Age: 29
Posts: 8,351
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Question: Would you rather me start another thread when i'm too lazy too search? :gheyfight

jk. But this thread is nice for that reason.

It's great, it saves clutter and allows n00bs to ask questions without posting a million new intake threads too!
Gnate is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 03:17 PM
  #222  
Senior Moderator
Regional Coordinator
(Mid-Atlantic)
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
97BlackAckCL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ShitsBurgh
Age: 37
Posts: 88,924
Received 3,066 Likes on 2,166 Posts
no one searches anyway, was just making a joke

But I would rather you searched
97BlackAckCL is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 03:18 PM
  #223  
Registered Member
iTrader: (10)
 
Gnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Age: 29
Posts: 8,351
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Next time, promise.
Gnate is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 05:44 PM
  #224  
Registered Member
 
Anhedonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Madison, Nj || Woodbridge, CT
Age: 29
Posts: 3,185
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
yeah, lug bolts, studs, same difference hahaha.. ok so need it if you space more then 7mm? psht, im looking to space 3/8th easy so that answers that question.. how difficult could it be to swap out the studs?
Anhedonia is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 11:33 PM
  #225  
i like acura
 
spencer_homer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bothell,WA
Age: 30
Posts: 2,431
Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts
it would be hammering the shit out of them. you have to take them to a shop and have them pressed in with a stud press
spencer_homer is offline  
Old 08-21-2009, 11:21 PM
  #226  
Registered Member
 
Anhedonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Madison, Nj || Woodbridge, CT
Age: 29
Posts: 3,185
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
anyone know how wide our trunk is in inches?
Anhedonia is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 11:10 PM
  #227  
Senior Moderator
Regional Coordinator
(Mid-Atlantic)
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
97BlackAckCL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ShitsBurgh
Age: 37
Posts: 88,924
Received 3,066 Likes on 2,166 Posts
Depends on which part of the trunk, gets narrower by the shock towers and wider by the tail lights
97BlackAckCL is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 11:25 PM
  #228  
Registered Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Miiike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Age: 30
Posts: 404
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 13 Posts
i've searched but i just want to be sure here, will an F22 5 speed tranny go fine with an F23? mines auto right now but it's going out the door...again, and i can get the 5 speed from an accord parts and installed for cheaper than a rebuild, would that work or will certain parts need to be from an f23?
Miiike is offline  
Old 08-23-2009, 01:53 PM
  #229  
Registered Member
 
Anhedonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Madison, Nj || Woodbridge, CT
Age: 29
Posts: 3,185
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Miiike View Post
i've searched but i just want to be sure here, will an F22 5 speed tranny go fine with an F23? mines auto right now but it's going out the door...again, and i can get the 5 speed from an accord parts and installed for cheaper than a rebuild, would that work or will certain parts need to be from an f23?

it will bolt directly up, youll just have to get all the necessary parts for the auto/manual swap as well. and of course, whether or not you chose to keep your auto cluster.
Anhedonia is offline  
Old 08-23-2009, 02:03 PM
  #230  
Registered Member
 
Anhedonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Madison, Nj || Woodbridge, CT
Age: 29
Posts: 3,185
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
ok now im kind of confused.. i was just chekcing out the bisimoto website looking at cam shafts.. it says you can send yours in to have it reground/ hard welded, or purchase a core to do the same. the core costs 150$ and is honda OEM.. but does that include the price of the grind? or is that simplyfor the core? theres also no specs listed for the service performed if i send it in.
Anhedonia is offline  
Old 08-23-2009, 02:42 PM
  #231  
Low and Slow
 
YtseJammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Age: 32
Posts: 484
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Does anyone know where I can get a replacement spring that goes behind the front corner lens housing? It's the spring that keeps it from popping out. The spring came off of my drivers side corner and now the housing keeps falling out when I drive around.
YtseJammer is offline  
Old 08-23-2009, 03:44 PM
  #232  
Registered Member
 
Anhedonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Madison, Nj || Woodbridge, CT
Age: 29
Posts: 3,185
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by YtseJammer View Post
Does anyone know where I can get a replacement spring that goes behind the front corner lens housing? It's the spring that keeps it from popping out. The spring came off of my drivers side corner and now the housing keeps falling out when I drive around.
lol came thing happened to me.. honda sells it for 4.79$ or you can hit up your local hardware store and pick one up for half that.
Anhedonia is offline  
Old 08-23-2009, 03:57 PM
  #233  
Low and Slow
 
YtseJammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Age: 32
Posts: 484
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
guess i need to drive down to the dealership because all the ppl at the hardware stores acted like they had never seen that part before.
YtseJammer is offline  
Old 08-23-2009, 04:39 PM
  #234  
Senior Moderator
Regional Coordinator
(Mid-Atlantic)
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
97BlackAckCL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ShitsBurgh
Age: 37
Posts: 88,924
Received 3,066 Likes on 2,166 Posts
Originally Posted by Anhedonia View Post
ok now im kind of confused.. i was just chekcing out the bisimoto website looking at cam shafts.. it says you can send yours in to have it reground/ hard welded, or purchase a core to do the same. the core costs 150$ and is honda OEM.. but does that include the price of the grind? or is that simplyfor the core? theres also no specs listed for the service performed if i send it in.
Try emailing or calling them and asking what their price includes

Originally Posted by YtseJammer View Post
guess i need to drive down to the dealership because all the ppl at the hardware stores acted like they had never seen that part before.
Yeah, that spring has a screw hole bent into it, I'd just go to the dealer and get one, I got a new set from www.acuraautomotiveparts.org but you have to order so much for them to ship it, like $30
97BlackAckCL is offline  
Old 08-23-2009, 04:53 PM
  #235  
Low and Slow
 
YtseJammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Age: 32
Posts: 484
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by 97BlackAckCL View Post
Yeah, that spring has a screw hole bent into it, I'd just go to the dealer and get one, I got a new set from www.acuraautomotiveparts.org but you have to order so much for them to ship it, like $30
What is the part called? I couldn't find it on the aap website. I was thinking about buying a new splash guard and fender liner too.
YtseJammer is offline  
Old 08-23-2009, 06:23 PM
  #236  
Low and Slow
 
YtseJammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Age: 32
Posts: 484
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I found it. They want $10 for them and you have to buy at least 2.
YtseJammer is offline  
Old 08-23-2009, 11:25 PM
  #237  
Registered Member
 
Anhedonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Madison, Nj || Woodbridge, CT
Age: 29
Posts: 3,185
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by YtseJammer View Post
I found it. They want $10 for them and you have to buy at least 2.


dude i work in a hardware store, we have springs like that lol, theyre labled as trampoline or screen door springs..
Anhedonia is offline  
Old 08-23-2009, 11:26 PM
  #238  
Registered Member
 
Anhedonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Madison, Nj || Woodbridge, CT
Age: 29
Posts: 3,185
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by 97BlackAckCL View Post
Try emailing or calling them and asking what their price includes

hmmm. this might work !!

but i know somebody was just recently dealing with them.. gnate?
Anhedonia is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 12:40 AM
  #239  
Low and Slow
 
YtseJammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Age: 32
Posts: 484
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Anhedonia View Post


dude i work in a hardware store, we have springs like that lol, theyre labled as trampoline or screen door springs..
Went to Home Depot and bought a whole box full of them for $4. They don't fit perfectly, but they still do the job.
YtseJammer is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 11:29 PM
  #240  
Registered Member
 
kmatthe2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lenexa Kansas
Age: 28
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have some noob questions here.
The NOOB buide says CAI for the 1g 3.0 CL are from the 1998 Accord 3.0.
So if I purchase say the AEM V2 cold air intake system for the 98 accord 3.0 I will not have to do any customization or bending or anything correct?

And another noob question once i attach the CAI to the engine I still keep the stock air filter set up correct? Im just making sure the CAI is a supplement to the stock air filter system and not a replacement?

Thanks
kmatthe2 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Question and Answer Thread


Contact Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.