97 2.2CL Oil Leak

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2012, 04:05 PM
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
97 2.2CL Oil Leak

Hey y'all, . I just inherited a 97 2.2cl Automatic with 85K on it and am having some questions that I hope you guys can answer or point me in the right direction. I got this car recently after my cousin passed away unexpectedly, so I really have no idea of the history of the car.

Shortly after I got it, I noticed a small oil leak around where the transmission meets the engine, so I am figuring it is a gasket or seal that needs replacing. I searched the site regarding this and found out that the rear main seal goes out on these cars. Well, I'm not really a mechanic and have experience limited to replacing a starter/brakes/oil changes. I haven't done more than look under the hood and underneath the car to see where the oil is coming from and its not really clear where it is. There is oil on the sub-frame and all over the transmission. Right now, I've got it up on ramps and going to clean the area now. Before I go through the process of finding the leak, is there anything I should look at or problem spots I should check?

Also, the transmission has a tendancy to shift a bit hard when going from 1st to 2nd and 2nd to 3rd. I checked the trans and the fluid is at the correct level, but it is amost brown like oil. I'm going to do a fluid change on it and want to know if there is any brands you all recommend besides the OEM fluid? Thanks for reading and Thanks in Advance for any help!
Old 05-16-2012, 06:39 PM
Racer

Received 32 Likes on 32 Posts
Don't have much advice other than only use Honda ATFz-1 fluid.
The following users liked this post:
wez_acuranewb1 (06-09-2012)
Old 05-16-2012, 10:53 PM
'97 2.2CL 5spd

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by wez_acuranewb1
Before I go through the process of finding the leak, is there anything I should look at or problem spots I should check?