Loving SH-AWD in the snow today

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2017, 01:45 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 616 Likes on 294 Posts
Loving SH-AWD in the snow today

Got hit with a decent storm here in NY, and I work in a hospital, so no work from home option for me as I'm considered "essential personnel." I have to say I was very impressed with how the TLX made the drive in relatively drama free fashion even though I am on the crappy stock Goodyears.

Passed 1 spun out truck, and 2 spun out SUVs on the highway, and when I made it close to work, I got stuck behind an AWD Q7, and a Buick Enclave (not sure if AWD or not) that couldn't get up a main road that was on an incline. The Q7 turned around after spinning his wheels for a bit, and the Buick was stuck in the left lane, but as soon as the Q7 got out of the way, I just went around the Buick, and continued up the road with little issue.

As I got to my parking garage on an even steeper side street, the Civic, and Mazda 3 in front of me couldn't get up the block, and had to turn around, but the TLX again soldiered on with no issues. I run PSS tires in the summer, so kept the stock setup for winters. I can't imagine how things would be with dedicated snows, but I would bet I'd be even more impressed.

I wanted a car in the entry level luxury class, that was not FWD, was sporty, but didn't have to be the ultimate sports sedan (Didn't need that with the other ride), and I wanted a quiet, comfortable ride with all the tech the Advance package offers for the days when I want the computers to take over some of the work. Being able to get through whatever Mother nature threw my way was also a requirement, and none of my previous cars, RWD, and FWD were ever as surefooted even with dedicated snow tires.

Those were my expectations going in, I did a thorough test drive, and spent some time in the different versions before signing on the dotted line for mine, and have to say, I've been very happy with my choice.