How much better is SH-AWD on the TLX compared to the systems in the current line up?

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2014, 07:10 AM
Racer

Received 47 Likes on 35 Posts
Question How much better is SH-AWD on the TLX compared to the systems in the current line up?

Newbie here (owner of a 8th gen Accord) and after perusing a lot of car blogs / forums recently, it seems Acura offers a great balance between reliability, pricing, and one of the better AWD systems out there.

From its wiki, it seems that only the RL/RLX's SH-AWD was superior with the addition of Acceleration Device:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SH-AWD

SH-AWD write up on Honda's website:
http://www.honda.co.nz/technology/engine/sh-awd/

What kind of improvements are we seeing on the TLX's SH-AWD besides the introduction of Precision-All Wheel Steer (P-AWS)?

I'm kind of a cheapskate and was looking forward to the I4 but without the AWD, I might have to go for the V6.

Over at the Driveaccord forum, there doesn't seem to be too many complaints about the V6 relating to vibration and judder and hopefully none of that is found in the TLX, once released.
Old 02-16-2014, 08:46 AM
Drifting

Received 218 Likes on 174 Posts
Not sure anyone knows just yet.
The following 2 users liked this post by Treblig:
BEAR-AvHistory (02-16-2014), internalaudit (02-16-2014)
Old 02-16-2014, 03:34 PM
Safety Car

Received 765 Likes on 550 Posts
The other post says the new generation SH-AWD will be 25% lighter and has new torque vectoring control logic
The following users liked this post:
internalaudit (02-16-2014)
Old 02-16-2014, 03:40 PM
2G TLX-S

Received 1,133 Likes on 813 Posts
^^^^^

How does that translate to actual vehicle performance in solid numbers ?
Old 03-23-2014, 11:03 PM
Racer

Hmmm. I wonder if the new SH-AWD will be as smart at the BMW's countersteering stability control + dynamic performance control:

http://blog.caranddriver.com/drift-b...soon-2014-ces/
Old 03-24-2014, 10:46 AM
10th Gear

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post