Powder coating wheels?

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2005, 03:12 AM
Three Wheelin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Powder coating wheels?

i was wondering if anyone has powdercoated wheels here before?
how is the durability and around how much does ti cost per wheel?
thanks
Old 10-22-2005, 06:47 AM
GEEZER

Received 2,227 Likes on 1,421 Posts
Durability far surpasses paint. It's about 125 to 150 a wheel depending on initial condition.
Old 10-22-2005, 08:53 AM
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I powdercoat for a living...

Trust me, it's good stuff, but it must be done correctly.

Powder coating of aluminum car wheels is standard equipment from the auto manufacturers and has been for years. If a clear is used, it is almost always an acrylic formulation. If the wheels are colored, the chemistry could be an acrylic or a polyester formulation. The LAST THING YOU WOULD WANT to powdercoat a wheel with would be an epoxy formulation. Although epoxy is the king of powder coatings with regard to corrosion control, epoxy sucks at sunlight resistance. For instance, if you epoxy powder coat a wheel black, don't be suprised if next year they are gray and the year after that white and actually "chalking" (you rub your fingers across the wheel and your fingers turn white.

If the proper chemistry is selected, which is NOT your job, you will have no issues. Let the powder coating job shop do that for you, that's what they are there for.

What you are doing when you powdercoat an object is to encase it in plastic, which as we all know does not rust. The wheel is grounded (hung from a hook), and positively charged plastic particles, up to 100,000 volts (but with very little amperage) is attracted to the oppositely charged wheel. Then the wheel is cured for a certain time and temperature for the powder coating to melt, flow out, crosslink and finally be cured. This is not a do it yourself operation. Let the pros do it.