Buying Long Distance Used Car: Help :D

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2009, 06:38 AM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Buying Long Distance Used Car: Help :D

So this is my first time buying a used car, period. This will also be my first unshared car (I shared a 95' camry with my older sister for a while), so I want it to be a worthy purchase. My budget is around 15k and I'm trying to obtain a used TL, and I've searched cars.com, yahoo autos, craigslist, etc. So far, my best bet has been craigslist in terms of finding local TL's for sale. I don't want to buy from a dealer if possible, I just don't trust them in general, and plus I don't feel like I'll ever get a good deal out of them. My problem is a lot of the ones I'm interested in are too far for me to get checked out by my mechanic, and I don't like dealing with unknown mechanics. Also, some of them aren't even within range (2+hrs away just to look at a car? Can't do it).

So what is the complete process I should go through when purchasing this car, specifically one that I probably won't see in person nor check out with a mechanic? I know I risk getting a lemon right?
Old 08-17-2009, 12:52 AM
S E L L

Received 51 Likes on 40 Posts
Keep searching, there are too many TLs around to risk buying a car you can't see or have checked out by a mechanic. I'd suggest looking into CarMax or similar type of car lots.
Old 08-17-2009, 04:37 AM
Cruisin'

Originally Posted by Gfaze
Keep searching, there are too many TLs around to risk buying a car you can't see or have checked out by a mechanic. I'd suggest looking into CarMax or similar type of car lots.
So I should get it checked out no matter what? What if I search a nearby dealership to the car's location and take it there for a checkup
Old 08-17-2009, 05:25 AM

Received 3,489 Likes on 2,089 Posts