Acura would obliterate Lexus in sales if they became a Tier One.

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2013, 06:46 PM
Racer

Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
Acura would obliterate Lexus in sales if they became a Tier One.

Hi all, I am new to Acurazine so sure about the rules here as far as posting goes. Anyways I have visiting this site on and off for the last few years, and have read a few threads talking about how acura as a brand as not achieved the same prestigious status as its cross country rival Lexus, and how Acura trails Lexus by far in U.S. sales. I believe that if acura became a tier one luxury autobrand this entire situation would be different. I mean if you look at it acura is known for bulletproof reliability (lexuses are pretty reliable too, but not as much as Acura), they have the sporty fun to drive factor(although that image has diminished a bit in recent years due to the upcoming CAFE demands), they are more fuel efficient, and they have an excellent resale value(which Lexus has too). Ok maybe saying they will obliterate Lexus in sales is a bit of a stretch, but I certainly think Acura would outsell Lexus had achieved a more prestigious brand image and had the full product lineup to go up against similar offerings from that of Lexus, hell, I think acura would even give the germans autobrands(BMW, MB, and Audi) a run for their money if they made it into tier one territory. So tell me guys, what do you think? Do you believe Acura would outshine Lexus in the luxury market if they had a more prestigious image?
Old 09-19-2013, 07:00 PM

Received 5,883 Likes on 2,899 Posts
I believe Acura's opportunity to do what you described passed them by about 10 years ago. There's a great deal of inertia impacting the market perception in place at this point. Honestly, I'd love to see Acura live up to its potential, but they've gone in all the wrong directions in recent history. It's an uphill battle for them at this point.
Old 09-19-2013, 07:09 PM
Your Friendly Canadian