Cameras & Photography Because there aren't already enough ways to share photos...

My First Shots w/ D60

Old 07-31-2008, 08:30 PM
Let's Go Pens

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
My First Shots w/ D60

I'd like to hear some constructive criticism from some of the experts here. I'm new to the SLR game so I know I have a lot to learn.

My shots can be found at: http://www.flickr.com/photos/evader

I'd like to hear some comments/suggestions I've really found a new love in photography. I'll be taking some outdoor shots and posting them here too for your thoughts!
Old 07-31-2008, 08:33 PM
Team Owner

Received 54 Likes on 27 Posts
One quick little tip that I know of that could help your pictures alot is to get level with your subject matter.

I saw this mainly in the pictures you were taking of you daughter when she was hugging a disney character. You were taking the shot from your level. Get down to a level closer to her. and get a little closer in.

Maybe this is bad advice, but it seems that it would tremendously help! Looking good though!
Old 07-31-2008, 08:37 PM
nnInn

Received 1,084 Likes on 646 Posts
Yes, Shoot kids from their level, one of the best pieces of advise that can be given.

Those images straight from the camera?
Old 07-31-2008, 08:42 PM
is learning to moonwalk i

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
I think his D60 shots had a lot taken from the same level as his subject.

There are some cool shots - especially the one where your daughter is on the floor with her toys looking sheepishly up at you (0008).

I think the main issue is the direct flash in a lot of the shots. I can't be sure if you have an external flash, or if it's all on camera. You need to take some more shots during the day when you can play with natural light a bit more.

Keep shooting and posting.
Old 07-31-2008, 08:45 PM
Team Owner

^^^

And just to add, just because it is daytime, don't think the flash is completely off limits.