Cameras & Photography Because there aren't already enough ways to share photos...

HDR pictures

Old 03-23-2009, 06:43 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 53 Likes on 44 Posts
HDR pictures

Is anyone into HDR photography? I am JUST beginning to do the research on what I would need to do in order to create some nice HDR images. My camera, the Nikon D60 does not have AEB bracketing, but that's ok, I can just make the necessary adjustments manually. I just purchased a remote for the camera for $5 shipped on ebay, and it works great, so it will help me with these pictures.

If you have dealt with HDR pictures, can you post some of your pictures and maybe a little info about your post processing steps? Thanks in advance everyone.
Old 03-23-2009, 06:57 PM
Race Director

Received 828 Likes on 513 Posts
Here are a couple I have done

These were done with multiple shots bracketed and photomatix

and these were a single shot again just done with Photomatix

The post processing was mostly by feel, and look. Every shot had some different processing, as what works for 1 might not work for another shot.
Old 03-23-2009, 07:03 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 9,951 Likes on 5,135 Posts
I was one of the big newbie HDR horn-tooters on this site a couple years ago so I think its appropriate for me to chime in. First of all, there is a good learning curve on it. And, my first attempts were absolutely horrifying. lol. I'll entertain you with a few samples:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/delobbo/1141336141/sizes/o/ http://www.flickr.com/photos/delobbo/1141335987/sizes/m/ http://www.flickr.com/photos/delobbo/1142409926/

This also has a lot to do with color balance, which I didn't quite "get". But also the saturation, and other levels in the tonemapping.

As far as the process goes, here is where I learned it:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High_dynamic_range_imaging
http://www.vanilladays.com/hdr-guide/
http://www.hdrsoft.com/support/faq_photomatix.html#tips
http://www.popphoto.com/hdr