Cameras & Photography Because there aren't already enough ways to share photos...

External Lighting

Old 12-26-2009, 10:05 PM
Rev High; Drive Happy

Received 398 Likes on 332 Posts
External Lighting

Hello all (and happy holidays)!

I've been takings shots with the Canon XT for about a year and a half now, or so... Been using the same kit lens from the day I got the camera.
I do not think that I will upgrade lens just yet as I'm still learning (I don't shoot often nor do I mess around with the camera often). However... I am interested in getting some lighting as all of my shots have been taken at night.

I do not know a whole lot on external lighting so I was hoping some of you could help me with the basics.
I'm also going to be taking an "Introduction To Photography" class for fun--and to help improve my shots.

I've seen a local sale for:
Creative Light Recessed Front Softbox (product # 100802) - it is 1'x4' (30x120cm)
with
Elinchrom-compatible speedring (Creative Light 100830)
I'm most likely going to purchase the set-up as it is relatively inexpensive.

Any of you have a recomendation on what else I should get with the set-up?
Here are some of my shots (all used with the lighting around me):

All of these have been edited [some light editing]

I'm not the greatest in editing either. Here you can see where I messed up the skintones.

This is my shot about a year ago, which is what my shot would sort of come out now (my more recent shots have more color to them)
Before

And what happened after heavy editing.
After

Last edited by o4Komodo; 12-26-2009 at 10:07 PM.
Old 12-27-2009, 08:22 AM
Photography Nerd

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Originally Posted by o4Komodo
I've seen a local sale for:
Creative Light Recessed Front Softbox (product # 100802) - it is 1'x4' (30x120cm)
with
Elinchrom-compatible speedring (Creative Light 100830)
I'm most likely going to purchase the set-up as it is relatively inexpensive.