Polk Audio PLK EX365

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2002, 09:57 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Polk Audio PLK EX365

They have these speakers at Circuit City, are they as easy to install as the DX-6? Has anyone installed them there self? I am new to car audio installing but I would be thrilled if I could upgrade my system for $200.
Old 12-23-2002, 12:19 AM
Burning Brakes

Is the roll over mod needed on these speakers as well?
Old 12-23-2002, 01:24 AM
Pro

I don't know of anyone who has actually installed them. I have physically looked at them and they should fit with ONE exception. The hole pattern in the door frame is only three screws in a triangle. Not all of the holes on the EX365 line up with these three. However, there is an indentation at the top of the speaker marking where a hole could be drilled. Drill a hole in that spot, and the speaker should fit into the stock door frame/mounting holes.

It is my opinion that ANY speaker WITH A TWEETER... be it a coaxial or a component system... would require some kind of high frequency rolloff to counteract the factory EQ. Some higher end component speakers may have a separate crossover that allows for a 3db or 6db, tweeter "cut" circuit. Still a cut only circuit isn't quite as good as an actual rolloff curve that more closely follows the boost curve.

That is why the DX6 is such a convenient choice. Yes, as debated on other threads, component speakers will in the end sound better than coxial speakers. But there is more work and expense involved. Also component speakers tend to not be as efficient, yet tend to also handle more power... So once you jump to the component level of an upgrade you might as well add an aftermarket amp in order to fully appreciate them. Then, Once you add this additional amp, you might as well BYPASS THE EQ which is, again, another level of time, money, and work and another league of upgrade.

It all depends upon how much of an upgrade you want to aim for.