help with amp??

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2006, 05:50 PM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
help with amp??

so i recently installed a deck, subs, and amp the other day..
everything was working fine... then when i was on the highway i noticed my subs stopped working..
so i went home and checked it out
thing is my amp is on but the light is not full and nothing is coming out of my subs

so i check all my fuses.. amp fuse directly connected to the battery, and the fuses on the amplifier
everything is fine
so i recheck my power cable which is fine
im guessin it could be my ground... but i rescrewed it again and scraped off the paint

i changed my amps to make sure it wasn't my amp that blew and that one didn't work with my subs either

Im still a noob...
but i have a digital multimeter
so i check my power and it read like 12.2 or something

and i dont know how to check my ground but if it's not my ground, what else could it be

i have a 2001 acura cl coupe and i ran the power to the side by the door which closes on the power cable, could that decrease the flow of power through to the amp??

i tried everythingg... can somebody help
Old 12-07-2006, 08:34 PM
Instructor

check your remote wire goin to the amp. chances are it came out of the back of the head unit
Old 12-08-2006, 09:12 AM
Senior Moderator

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
12.2 volt sounds a little low. I know nothing of the CL, but my TSX usually reads around 14v, even with underdrive pulleys and an amp installed. If you're experiencing power drops below 12v, you're basically giving your car rolling brownouts You may have to look into a big 3 upgrade to get better conductivity, or perhaps a new battery.

It you are having low voltage scenarios, you've got to hope you didn't break any of your components. I'd be most worried about the amp, not the subs themselves.

edit: I just reread your post... you have a door closing on your power cable??