Buzzing from Tweeters and solutions?

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2004, 04:58 PM
Cruise Missile Lobber

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Buzzing from Tweeters and solutions?

I'm getting some buzzing from my tweeters every now and then when the right note/tone is in a song. My question is will a new set of tweeters fix the problem, or is it the fact that the crossover funtion built into the OEM amp just that crappy?

I'm willing to buy a nice set of tweeters or even a component set, but I'm a newb so I'm not sure what to do to fix the problem.

Thanks again in advance!
Old 10-20-2004, 06:17 PM
VP Electricity

Received 8 Likes on 1 Post
My suspicion is that the OE xover is a series cap - first order. I don't think the OE amp has a set of OP channels for the tweets.
Old 10-20-2004, 06:30 PM
VP Electricity

WHOOPS... I suspect the tweets are blown. No reason to think it won't happen again if it was caused by leaning on the system hard... I suspect the 6x9's trying to play bass and running out of power/clipping causes distortion to go to the tweeters...
Old 10-20-2004, 06:49 PM
2004 TSX

I've noticed this occasionally on mine, but I think it's a FM radio/antenna issue, not a tweeter issue..

Is it only when listening to the radio and not CD?
Old 10-20-2004, 08:00 PM
Cruise Missile Lobber

Originally Posted by elduderino
WHOOPS... I suspect the tweets are blown. No reason to think it won't happen again if it was caused by leaning on the system hard... I suspect the 6x9's trying to play bass and running out of power/clipping causes distortion to go to the tweeters...
So if the tweeters are blown then I should be able to hear music out of them, but only certain tones will make them buzz?? If that's the case will the new component system work...or will this just happen again?

Thanks elduderino!
Old 10-20-2004, 08:01 PM
Cruise Missile Lobber

Originally Posted by musicbox
I've noticed this occasionally on mine, but I think it's a FM radio/antenna issue, not a tweeter issue..