Another battery for audio system ONLY

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2005, 05:04 PM
ഥഎണഡഏ Fellas Inc.

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Question Another battery for audio system ONLY

Would it be possible to just throw another battery in the trunk to power my audio equipment? Are there any downsides to doing this? Where would I attach the negative terminal?
Old 02-05-2005, 05:42 PM
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Malayalee King
Would it be possible to just throw another battery in the trunk to power my audio equipment? Are there any downsides to doing this? Where would I attach the negative terminal?
I am by no means an expert, but wouldn't a battery in the trunk be a bad idea since it would never get charged by the motor?
Old 02-05-2005, 05:51 PM
Banned

A battery in the trunk is no problem at all. For starters, just make sure you secure it well so it doesn't slide around. There are a few ways to do it, the easiest being this:

-Run at least a 4 guage wire from the engine bay to the trunk.
-Connect this wire to the positive terminal on the battery in the engine bay via a battery relay, and connect the other end of it to the trunk batteries positive terminal.
-Ground the battery in the trunk to the chassis of the car....make sure this connection is nice and tight, and free of paint (bare metal)
-The battery relay will require an ignition wire be attached to it so it only energizes and charges the trunk battery with the car running...when the car is off, it will de-energize, and disconnect itself from the engine compartment battery to prevent drainage.....

You can do it like that, or do it where you connect the alternator through a battery isolator and then each battery gets connected to seperate terminals on the isolator.
Old 02-05-2005, 05:57 PM
VP Electricity

Received 8 Likes on 1 Post
Originally Posted by ron@se
A battery in the trunk is no problem at all.
LMAO.