AcuraZine - Acura Enthusiast Community

AcuraZine - Acura Enthusiast Community (https://acurazine.com/forums/)
-   Integra (https://acurazine.com/forums/integra-188/)
-   -   Can I learn manual in a day? (https://acurazine.com/forums/integra-188/can-i-learn-manual-day-976489/)

Rawdog0 01-17-2019 07:35 PM

Can I learn manual in a day?

So I am thinking of trading my TSX for an RSX-S but I never drove an MT, been driving for about 3 years and feel like im a pretty good driver and picked it up quickly, reason Im asking is because I need to drive 30m for work everyday so..yea lol

I have people to teach me so at least theres that, how did you guys learn?

Also is this a wise trade for me? Its a 2008 TSX, great condition for a 2002 Type S great condition, both similar condition and miles (170kish on both)

kurtatx 01-17-2019 07:39 PM

It takes a day about. once you get used to it, you're good. Be careful on hill starts, though

Rawdog0 01-17-2019 07:41 PM

Originally Posted by kurtatx (Post 16367427)
It takes a day about. once you get used to it, you're good. Be careful on hill starts, though

I’ll have someone drive me home and once I learn I’ll practice all day

Midnight Mystery 01-17-2019 08:04 PM

Start with the clutch and, at first, don't let out fast, you'll stall. Release clutch over a couple of seconds while throttling maybe 15-25%. Be smooth and easy, you're not trying to race yet. Just get it rolling. Also, don't worry about downshifting at first... Because $$$ could happen if you can't feel where the gears are. P.S., only drove one manual a few times, four years ago. It was a POS 1996 Suzuki Sidekick.

horseshoez 01-17-2019 08:22 PM

I learned back in 1977; a friend was selling his car and promised he'd teach me how to drive a stick before I drove home. Unfortunately at the last minute he landed a hot date; I gave him the money, he gave me the keys and title, and he split.