AcuraZine - Acura Enthusiast Community

AcuraZine - Acura Enthusiast Community (https://acurazine.com/forums/)
-   ILX (https://acurazine.com/forums/ilx-382/)
-   -   2013 ILX,synthetic oil or synthetic blend oil? (https://acurazine.com/forums/ilx-382/2013-ilx-synthetic-oil-synthetic-blend-oil-954036/)

Juliasdad1990 01-25-2017 10:00 PM

2013 ILX,synthetic oil or synthetic blend oil?

synthetic oil or synthetic blend oil?

hondu 01-27-2017 06:33 AM

Originally Posted by Juliasdad1990 (Post 15944472)
synthetic oil or synthetic blend oil?

Either will work just fine in your ILX. Just follow the MM.

Full synthetic oils are pretty cheap to find nowadays, so why not go full synthetic?

Pennzoil has a $2/quart rebate going right now on their full synthetic oils, so probably even cheaper than a blend.

justnspace 01-27-2017 06:39 AM

^I concur

edcygan 02-03-2017 07:00 AM

In the maintenance guide Acura doesn't recommend synthetic oil! Just saying I'm new to the Acura family

Q: I use synthetic oil. Should I expect to get more miles before the Acura Maintenance Minder indicates that I need an oil change?
A: Acura does not recommend the use of synthetic oils in models that do not require them as your Acura was designed and engineered based on the oil recommended in your owner’s manual. The Acura Maintenance Minder calculates your vehicle’s needs based on the oil recommended by the Acura engineers that designed your engine. The use of synthetic oil will not extend the oil change interval.

edcygan 02-03-2017 07:00 AM

In the maintenance guide Acura doesn't recommend synthetic oil! Just saying I'm new to the Acura family

Q: I use synthetic oil. Should I expect to get more miles before the Acura Maintenance Minder indicates that I need an oil change?