No start/crank Help!

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2019, 03:47 PM
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
No start/crank Help!

Hello everyone, newbie here.
My GF's 2015 TLX 2.4L has recently starting giving her issues. About a month ago it suddenly refused to start and only had a very rapid clicking sound. Autozone tested the battery and said it was good but only tested for voltage so when I brought my good tester it showed that the battery had a bad cell. Replaced it and all was well until last night. We left my house and went to one store before dinner. After leaving the store I drove it about 100 yards to the restaurant and we went in to eat. When we went to leave the car wouldnt start again. Just does a single click sound and nothing more. I took the battery to a different autozone (My tester is at work). They threw it on a load tester and it came back bad with the exception of saying it had 84% charge which is probably due to trying to crank with no start.
After that I began to think it was the starter, no local stores have it but I took it out and had it tested at Pepboys. They ran the test several times and the starter worked flawlessly.

I am stuck now, the only think I can think of is a start relay but the only one I can find info on is the one inside the big fuse box under the hood and its within a smaller box all soldered onto a motherboard type of thing. Has anyone had this happen and know a fix? I am about to get back under it and check to see if voltage comes through the starter wire when the ignition is hit but I cant think of anything else to do. Thanks for the help in advance.
Old 04-08-2019, 10:22 AM
Advanced

Received 23 Likes on 13 Posts