Is there a year-specific character of transmission behavior 3.5L V6 9-speed AWD

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2022, 09:33 PM
ACC
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Is there a year-specific character of transmission behavior 3.5L V6 9-speed AWD

Hello, I'm new to Acurazine! I am shopping for a used CPO TLX with SH-AWD, and my only concern was the transmission. I have test drove two 2018, one 2019, and one 2020, and didn't find any transmission issue, but felt they have different characteristics. Like in the same drive mode, 2018 TLX reached high RPM really fast and did not up-shift, while 2019 and 2020 shifts in a more "expected" manner.

I heard some owners report transmission hesitation/hunting as long as 2-3 months into the ownership, so I wonder if there is something I wouldn't notice in test drive. Is there a model-year based characteristics/tuning? Which year is most immune to the transmission issue? Is there something else that I should consider when deciding the model years, other than the obvious different price? From the spec, they seem really identical for Tech package other than 2019/20 dropped the spare tire.

Thank you.
Old 12-15-2022, 05:56 AM
Advanced

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts
Have a little over 40k miles on our 2019 V6 with the SH-AWD and have experienced no issues with the transmission. Have not driven any other year TLXs. Like all vehicles, as you get towards the end of a generation the manufacturer tends to get all the issues worked out. So I would expect any of those you drove to be reliable for long term ownership. But I cannot address whether Acura changed the transmission programming for more responsive/sportier shifting over those three years.
Old 01-10-2023, 03:00 PM
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post