Thunk Thunk Noise Coming from Front PS Wheel?

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2009, 09:59 PM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thunk Thunk Noise Coming from Front PS Wheel?

I have a problem with my 04' TL MT ASPEC that My local Dealership wasn't able to diagnose. I use to work at Acura, therefore i have acquaintances who are techs and service writers there... great friends to have. Anyways, here's the problem.

At lower speeds, Especially when i go over a speed bump ever so slowly, my front passenger wheel makes a thunk thunk or a bumping/bouncing feel/sound. My first thought was that there was something wrong with my suspension so i took it down to my guys at acura. One look at my TL's (18" Factory) rims they said that the rim must be bent.
I came back an hour later and that is what they determined. ... so i have been driving around on this "bent rim" for a few months now thinking that i had to save up to buy a new rim... 400 something dollars-NO THANKS!.
To hold me over, I got two new front tires today until i could afford that new rim..
Well, I made sure to explain the problem to the guy at the wheel/tire place. After his examination and replacement of my tires/Balancing, he said that my rim is fine and definitely not BENT! Thank god! He said that the noise was probably coming from uneven TIRE Wear.
I WISH!!! As I drove home.. at high speeds i still feel VIBRATIONS in the steering wheel and at low speeds (over the speedbumps and dips) I'm still getting the THUMP THUMP bump/bouncing effect out of that front right wheel.... EVEN WHEN GOING DOWN HILL IN NEUTRAL or over a speed bump IN NEUTRAL.