4G TL Transmission Shudder at low speeds Possible Fix

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2017, 11:27 PM
2011 SHAWD

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4G TL Transmission Shudder at low speeds Possible Fix

I have a 2011 Acura TL SH-AWD with about 160k. Got it at 92k. Previously owned by an older gentleman.

I have been a mechanic for about 6 years and counting, so all the services were done on time and in between service intervals.
I noticed shutters a few months after purchasing the vehicle. I figured the services were neglected as there were no records at Acura of any service. So, I performed all the services to my satisfaction. (transmission drain and fill until the fluid turned red). Even then the shudders did not go away. I realized that the shudders were only at low rpm and speeds, so I started to drive a bit more aggressively to make the transmission downshift often so that I don't have to deal with the shudder.

I got the notice for the Takeda Air Bag recall, and when I dropped off my car the service advisor told me that there was a recall for the torque converter, so I had the advisor perform the repairs. Right after the service, I noticed that the transmission was hesitant at up shift for the first few times. (possibly because of the update resetting the computer). After driving for about 10 minutes I realized that the shudder is completely gone and I can comfortably drive at low RPMs without the transmission feeling like it's seizing up. I guess I can expect better mileage as I don't have to step on it all the time to have the transmission in a lower gear. Also, the jerk that I had when I went from Park to Drive is gone too.

The service was an update to the software and one drain and fill (about 3.0l) of transmission oil.