I-003: Sound meter test fun for ELS system

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2009, 08:47 PM
Three Wheelin'

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I-003: Sound meter test fun for ELS system

I work in the AV field and came across my partners sound level meter, so just for fun I took it home to test out the sound in the 09' TL tech ELS sound system since I never get to use it in the field. The test instrument is the Extech type 2 SLM and displays a digital DB level, such as 36.5db. In an attempt to compare fairly, the same source was used with the DVD-A, CD, iPhone, iPod, and USB stick. The file was Donald Fagen's "I.G.Y." since it's the only song that I have on 5.1 DVD-A from the 3G TL demo dvd, and commercial CD.

Please note, this is extremely amateurish and experimental and tough to be exact. Now the hard part was making sure all the media was recorded at the same level or at least close. I used the Mac application called Wave burner to monitor the levels and got them pretty close. For the iPhone and iPod, I also used AIFF files at 44.1/16-bit as you lose quality with MP3's. The USB stick was a MP3 at highest possible quality and 320kbps. Please note that I have all the TL Audio settings at default levels 0, and the Dolby Pro Logic II setting on, all windows up, roof closed and shade closed, in my garage which is pretty quiet.

Without getting too technical here's my results, playing all sources at sound setting 20:

DVD-Audio was +0.7db louder than all sources
CD was +0.65db louder than iPhone & iPod using the USB data port
Iphone and iPod were +0.25db louder than the USB stick
USB stick and auxiliary jack were identical, but I used the iPhone AIFF file compared to the USB stick 320kbps file.