YOKO YK520's or S-Drive for 05 TL?

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2008, 06:06 PM
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool YOKO YK520's or S-Drive for 05 TL?

I am in need of new tires for my 05 TL and dont know which tire to go with. I replaced my OEM Bridgestone EL42's at 40K (amazing that they lasted that long) with Yoko Avid H4S tires which have lasted me almost 60K. I was quite satisfied with the H4S tires, but unfortuneatly America's Tire no longer sells the Avid H4S, so I am considering the Yoko YK520s or S-Drive tires. I do alot of freeway driving and really like having long lasting tires that will also give me a quiet ride. Any suggestions on whether I should go with the YK520's or the S-drive tires?
Old 02-19-2008, 12:29 AM
Stuck in Vegas.

i work for america's tire co. .. actually discount tire co, but they're the same company.

i'm a salesman and if you really want yoko's here's some info

yk520s are a great tire, more of a passenger tire, rather a performance tire.
s drives are a performance tire, with a good feel, low road noise, but i haven't had too many customers end up really happy with them with their performance and tread life compared to other tires.
DO NOT GET ES 100!

if you want yoko's get the sdrives. but if you the BEST of the best, of course get some michelins (pilot sport ps-2).

i currently have nitto 555s and LOVE them. low road noise. great performance. i hear the nitto invo's are really great too if you're into an a-symmetrical tire.
Old 02-19-2008, 02:11 PM
08 TL Type S A-Spec

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I am looking into new SUMMER HPT's myself. www.tirerack.com AND www.discounttire.com are BOTH excellent sources for reviews, pictures, ratings, etc.
**I looked at the Yoko S-Drives in person, they look very nice. However, tirerack didn't give them the best review........it seems that tire placed 3rd in a comparison test.
**The Kuhmo SPT placed 1st in that test.......check those out.