Tires w/Different Speed Ratings - Help!

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2011, 05:02 PM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tires w/Different Speed Ratings - Help!

Noob question here.

Having some warranty work done on my car by CarMax. I noticed a slight, occasional vibration in the steering wheel around 75-80 mph. Took my car ('07 Base TL, 55k miles) into CarMax to address and they said it was that two tires had been worn unevenly which was causing the vibration. The service adviser told me they would be replacing those two tires with new tires. She also commented that these two new tires had a higher speed rating than my previous tires "which is good." I am not a car expert, but having 2 sets of tires with different speed ratings didn't seem right to me. Plus, I believe I have the same model tires as what comes stock (Bridgestone Potenza RE030) which I think are z-rated. I thought z-rated tires were the highest you could go until you got into the ultra high-performance w and y-rated (which I am assuming they wouldn't put on my car)???

My main question: is it OK to have 2 sets of tires with different speed ratings? My local mechanic advised against that. I have a message in to get the details of the old tires vs. new tires (model, rating, etc).

In the meantime, any input would be greatly appreciated! THANKS!

Last edited by OSU_Acura_Guy; 02-21-2011 at 05:04 PM. Reason: edit
Old 02-21-2011, 05:38 PM
AZ Community Team

Received 7,770 Likes on 4,341 Posts
"Z" is a general rating, meaning good at 149 mph and beyond. BUT "Z" doesn't say how far beyond. In other words, "Z" is higher than "V" (up to 149 mph), but "Z" is non-specific. More here:

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tirete....jsp?techid=35