Michelin Pilot Sport A/S help a newbie

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2004, 09:24 PM
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Michelin Pilot Sport A/S help a newbie

I am a newbie to this forum so please don't shoot me for another post on this tire thread. Just returned my 2002 TL-S last week from a 36 month lease and now have the 2004 TL in automatic.

I am driving this car a week mostly local. Called my tire dealer to find out how much these tires cost because thought it might be a good idea to have a spare in case I need a replacement because they usually don't stock 17". My 2002 TL stock Michelins bubbled a few of them and figured down the road I will need one.

Anyway I get 2 prices on these EL42's one dealer for $135.00 and one another want $290.00. That's when I started getting curious what is the deal with these EL42's. Started to search the interenet and find out these tires are about $125.00 and read all the negative feedback at The Tire Rack and Acura-TL.Com.

I live in NYC with all types of crazy you never know weather conditions. I not happy to hear things like hyrdoplaining and bad on snow. I want to be able to tackle all conditions with confidence after all this is an Acura 270HP.

So I am thinking of just changing like others and getting Michelin Sport A/S. Only hear good things about these.

Read so many posts my head is spinning and I think this is the thing to do except for the cost factor of having to get 4 new tires. I was told I would really see a major improvement like day and night in all aspects perfomance and handling with The Michelin Sport A/S.

Just want to hear from others if I should just go for it and bite the bullet. If it will make such a difference I want them. Let me know what you all think.
Old 07-21-2004, 11:35 PM
Team Owner

Received 3,864 Likes on 2,031 Posts
Go for it. They are excellent tires.

Mike
'04 ABP 5AT, Michelin PS A/S
Old 07-22-2004, 12:20 AM
3rd Gear