Improved TL handling, turn radius, and stability for exactly $1.50

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2007, 09:43 PM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool Improved TL handling, turn radius, and stability for exactly $1.50

Noob here, just purchased an 04' tl, w/o nav, w/ ........ ~97k!!! now has ~100k in about 2 months!! Still running strong and smooth!

Here is the scoop (This has probably been covered but, I think its EXTREMELY important)

I was doing research on FWD handling characteristics, namely understeer (bad), and I came across this website

To make a long story short, the article stated that to REDUCE understeer or INCREASE oversteer in FWD vehicles, you need to increase front tire pressure and or REDUCE rear tire pressure.

Put 40 psi in the front and 29 psi in the back and whoomph! it was like a completely different car. Tightened the turn radius, drastically reduced torque steer, tracked much straighter and truer, even on crowned and bumpy roads. Spent $0.75 at gas station twice to get front tires to 40 psi. Ok, I'm not being totally honest, I also got an alignment today as well. but that is normal maintenance, doesn't really count.

My next mod (real mod this time), will be to lower the front (ONLY!) ride height
Old 12-12-2007, 10:01 PM
Registered but harmless

Received 1,149 Likes on 775 Posts
Originally Posted by tl-pain
...To make a long story short, the article stated that to REDUCE understeer or INCREASE oversteer in FWD vehicles, you need to increase front tire pressure and or REDUCE rear tire pressure.

Put 40 psi in the front and 29 psi in the back and whoomph! it was like a completely different car. Tightened the turn radius, drastically reduced torque steer, tracked much straighter and truer, even on crowned and bumpy roads.