Dunlop Direzza Sport Z1 Star Spec or SP Sport Maxx TT?

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2010, 06:00 PM
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Dunlop Direzza Sport Z1 Star Spec or SP Sport Maxx TT?

I'm in the market for some new tires soon and after reading through all the threads here, I've narrowed my choices down to these 2. I've read the comparisions C&D did on tires back in 2009 and the Direzza came up on top. There was also a comparison test on tirerack on summer tires and the SP Sport Maxx TT scored pretty well.

If anyone here has had any experience with either of these tires, I would very much appreciate your feedback on them.

thanks
Old 03-23-2010, 09:46 PM
Fresher the Better

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have no personal experience with either tire I'm sorry to say, but perhaps this will help you decide. Both are excellent tires. The Direzza Star Spec (the one C&D reviewed) is an Extreme performance tire which will wear very quickly and give you great dry traction but sacrifices some wet traction compared to the Sport Max TT, particularly wet breaking where it only gets an "A" rating (vs. the TT's "AA" rating). The Sport Max TT is a more balanced tire and falls in the "Max" performance category. The Sport Max TT should give a more comfortable ride, with excellent handling in wet & dry. I note that Tirerack's test results do not seem directly comparable, even though they used the same car.

German publication Autobild.de had this to say of the Sport Max TT in the 225/45 R17 size:

"Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (ca. 145 Euro): Stärken: dynamische Handlingeigenschaften mit sehr guter Seitenführung und kurzen Bremswegen auf trockener Piste, niedriger Rollwiderstand. Schwächen: durchschnittliche Sicherheitsreserven bei Aquaplaning. Bewertung: Gut."

Translation: