Another Pirelli PZero Nero M+S Review (LONG)

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2006, 01:20 AM
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Talking Another Pirelli PZero Nero M+S Review (LONG)

Hey Boys and Girls,

It's been a while since I have posted. I have been busy with work and family and decided to write up a review on the much beloved Pirelli PZero Neros. Just a bit of background about my ride...It's a 2004 WDP 5AT with the A-Spec suspension and Comptech RSW with about 26.8k on the odo. The OEM EL42s were almost down to the wear indicators in the rear while the fronts look like I could have gone to about 32k. I am a moderately aggressive driver who does about 95% city miles here in Boston, MA.

The Tire...
The Pirelli PZeros that I purchased were the 245/45 17s. They were purchased from Discount Tires for $147 shipped! They updated their price to a little over $150 after I made my purchase. I guess they caught their mistake after I got mine. The free shipping was nice. Anyway, I chose the 245s instead of the 235s based on what I read here on the forum. I have battle scars on all 4 rims due to the lack of any rim protection on the EL42s. Plus the larger diameter of the 245 would help increase fuel mileage slightly while improving both rim protection and ride.

***The tire is non directional but is marked "Outer" and "Inner" to aide with snow traction. It's something that a rushing tire tech may not notice so be sure to say something when you get then put on.

***Note the the 245s are bulged out more towards the tread when mounted on our OEM 8 inch rims. It looks less sexy than the A-Spec Yokohama ES 100s which stick out wider thought the ENTIRE sidewall of the tire. In essense, the Neros look more like 65 series tires than high performace tires. But that's just my observation. This might be important for those who like a good looking tire. But don't get me wrong. The tread pattern looks HOT !

The Ride...