Popping sound when turning

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2010 | 02:21 PM
2nd Gear

Popping sound when turning

Hello Forum,
I'm a newbie and this is my first post. I bought a 07 TLS that just turned 10K miles. My question is when I back up or sometimes make a turn, I hear this popping noise, which sounds like its coming from the right front location. I tried to do a search, but couldn't find what I thought it might be. Could it be a bad joint or something of the equiv.? Its almost like something is in a bind, then pops out and then its fine.
Old 05-13-2010 | 07:51 PM
Racer

My first guess would be a bad CV joint. No big deal. Get it fixed sooner than later. When they fail, it's not fun. It'll be covered under warranty. If you want to know for sure, just turn the wheel all the way to the right and look at the rubber boots on either end of the passenger side axle. One is probably torn. And there'll be grease all over the place. Might try to get 'em to clean that off when they do the axle, since it's warranty work.

An 07 with 10k miles? Lucky!
Old 05-13-2010 | 10:58 PM
Cruisin'

Hey bud and Welcome to Acurazine! I am still having a similar problem like you. I bought my car over a year ago (06TL5A) and when I would turn the wheel all the way to the left or right, it would make a loud cliking sound like something is slipping or getting caught up. I noticed it only does it under load while *both* wheels are touching the ground. When either one is lifted or when both are on loose dirt or slick surface it does not exhibit the noise...