Is my clutch starting to go bad?

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2009, 12:42 PM
Middle Finger anyone?

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Is my clutch starting to go bad?

The only time I have ever had to replace a clutch was because the pilot bearing went bad, and the clutch was still good. So I have no real experience knowing how to determine if my clutch is going bad. That said....Here is why I think it is starting to go.

This problem started last month. The situation is I downshift to pass a car(rpms drop normal) and I speed up to redline. Then I upshift to the next gear, usually 4th. Here is the problem. Once I shift the rpms hang a little and slowly lower to the correct rpm. I watched it. Redline>>shift>>rpms slowly drop and the car doesn't seem to accelerate much>>it gets within a couple hundred rpm of the target and then drops fast to the correct rpm>>then the car accelerates normally.

Is this a first sign that my clutch is starting to go? My car has 73k miles and I think this is still the original clutch. Also about a month ago I had a dyno done. The car peaked at 205hp which is kinda low for the TL. Could it be the clutch that caused the low hp. It would mean to suggest that my clutch is starting to lose clamping pressure at high rpms. What do you think?
Old 12-07-2009, 05:21 PM
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Your clutch is going as you thought. Usually you will notice it first in the higher gears.
Old 12-07-2009, 05:53 PM
Middle Finger anyone?

I guess now I know what my first purchase in 2010 will be now. Anybody else want to chime in.
Old 12-07-2009, 06:28 PM
Registered Member

Received 162 Likes on 102 Posts
Originally Posted by NCTL05
The only time I have ever had to replace a clutch was because the pilot bearing went bad, and the clutch was still good. So I have no real experience knowing how to determine if my clutch is going bad. That said....Here is why I think it is starting to go.