6MT gear or synchro grinding into 2nd

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2010, 09:34 PM
Instructor

Received 25 Likes on 16 Posts
6MT gear or synchro grinding into 2nd

I've been driving MTs for daily drivers since 1991. I also have a 1970 Corvette 4-speed I take out for a drive on weekends to keep it "exercised".

On quick upshifts to 2nd after revving up my 2010 TL to 5000 rpm or so, it seems I can't get away from a quick grind - the kind that makes me feel sick to hear it. The car goes into gear, however, but not without that sickening crunch. This doesn't happen when I'm slow and deliberate, only for quick shifting; and it doesn't happen for any other gear change. I'm almost positive my timing has the clutch to the floor before the shifter is pulled into 2nd, but admit it's a quick enough operation when I need to accelerate quickly that I can't help wonder if my timing might be a hair off. However, I didn't have any such issue going from a '91 Accord 5MT to '95 Prelude VTEC 5MT, nor going from that to an '01 Maxima 5MT, nor going from that to an '07 335i 6MT, and I don't grind 'em on the '70 Corvette despite its 40 year-old clutch/shifter technology.